24 Hours of Le Mans 2022 official year book




The 90th edition of the legendary 24 Hours of Le Mans was distinguished above all by the fact that, after a two-year break, spectators were finally able to take part in the spectacle again in large numbers. The appreciative audience witnessed the duel between the Toyota GR010 Hybrid. After number 7 in 2021, number 8 was given the honour of giving the Japanese manufacturer its fifth victory at the Sarthe. Ryo Hirakawa won on his first appearance, while it was the third success of Brendon Hartley and, most importantly, the fourth of Sébastien Buemi, who has now matched the great Henri Pescarolo, Olivier Gendebien and Yannick Dalmas.
Jim Glickenhaus is to thank for another achievement this year. The American, who was fourth in his first appearance last year, has claimed the podium he always dreamed of. In the LMP2 class, it was Jota who put two cars on the podium in a very competitive class. The official Porsche 911 RSR-19 of Frédéric Makowiecki, Richard Lietz and Gianmaria Bruni will go down in history as the last winner of the GTE-Pro class so loved by the fans, but it was the last appearance at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The Aston Martin TF Sport had to beat Porsche to triumph in the GTE-Am class. In this yearbook, you will find hundreds of carefully selected photos and everything you need to know about the participants, rules and background of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2022.